Author Topic: CamJam 2013  (Read 1487 times)

Offline Cameroo

• Cam's Stuff
CamJam 2013
« on: June 01, 2013, 09:41:08 pm »
Here are a few pictures from the bow tillering seminar that I was helping adb instruct the last day and a half.  I'm sure Adam, who was the head instructor, will argue with my choice of title for the seminar, but AdamJam  or Lee Valley Jam just don't roll off the tongue quite as well ;)   :P  Lee Valley tools is hosting it for us, and they provided us with the tools, work benches and enough space for 6 students.  The youngest of the group is 15.  2 of the 6 guys are back for a second time, and one guy (Dave, or dmc on the forum) is back for a third time.  The guy should probably be instructing the class himself by now!  I took one of Adam's seminars back in 2010 but this is my first time assisting him with instructing, and I was nervous as hell going into it.  Once we got going I settled in and felt right at home.

The seminar is scheduled to take 19 hours over 3 days, but half of the class left today with a tillered bow, and will only have to do some finishing work next Saturday.  The other guys were within a few inches of done, except for that Dave guy (sorry buddy, I gotta bust your balls a bit!)

I'd like to think the quality floor tillered bow-blanks and exceptional instruction had something to do with their success ;) There were no explosions, so that's always a bonus!  Hopefully the entire class might finish early next weekend and we'll have some spare time to fletch some arrows and then go fling them around Adam's back yard.  If only that Dave guy would just pick up the pace a bit...  ::)  You'd think the guy would be a little fast the 3rd time around! ha ha Actually Dave is having his first crack at an ELB and is doing it right - nice and easy.

Here are a few pics of the class in session

Offline lesken2011

• Kenny
Re: CamJam 2013
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2013, 10:30:41 pm »