Author Topic: shorter bow length durability?  (Read 1744 times)

Offline Lee Lobbestael

shorter bow length durability?
« on: June 12, 2013, 09:47:59 am »
Hey guys, I read on bowyers bible 1 in the section on building an osage flatbow, they suggest making a 67” bow for a 28” draw and reducing it two inches for each inch less than that in drawlength. This is for a stiff handled bow.  Well I just tillered out a 61” stiff handled osage at 50#@28”. It seems to be holding up fine so far although the string angle is a little high. If the tiller is good will an osage bow this length hold up? I’m sure it will because I have seen bendy handled bows on here down in the low 50” range but my OCD has got me a little worried so I figured I would ask the pros!

Offline Christian Soldier

Re: shorter bow length durability?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2013, 09:57:07 am »
I'm not a pro, but in my limited expierience length was just a small factor in breaking the bows I did and an unseen hinge or a cut across the rings on the back is substansially more lethal to a bow.

Length will effect how much stress is on the bow, which will effect string follow, but even in some extreme cases I've seen in really short bow, length alone (within reason), isn't enough to break a bow. Proper tiller and a clean back are much more important.

That being said, longer bows will handle stress better, and there's a bunch of other things they can do but that assumes proper tiller and design, not just length.

Any pics of this osage bow?
2nd Timothy 2:3 "Endure hardship with us like a good soldier of Christ Jesus."

Offline Thesquirrelslinger

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2013, 10:54:36 am »
Well, if you can nail the tiller and don't brace it overhigh, probably... 61/2= 30.5. So thats the ABSOLUTE max draw length... So yea, I think it will hold up IF your back is perfect and the tiller is too.