Author Topic: just wanted to say hello!  (Read 6443 times)

rocker

just wanted to say hello!
« on: November 18, 2007, 12:41:20 pm »
im new to traditional archery,wanted to introduce myself,i live in northern p.a.,im 26,im a husband and a father, im an avid hunter,i got sick of my componds,i just cant get satisfaction out of them anymore.a couple years ago a friend of mine gave me an old bear recurve and i fell in love with traditional,then recently another friend gave me his bear recurve so now i have a 40# grizzly and a 50# black bear,i really want to build a selfbow and ive got a piece of black locust drying right now,but im gonna have to wait awhile for that to dry out,thats o.k. though i have bows to shoot until then,i live on 132 acres that is full of bow wood,so im gonna cut some more staves sometime,i have black locust,maple,ash,and cherry.i thought while i wait for staves to dry i would build a laminated long bow this winter,since nothing needs dried for that,maybe ill even try to make some arrows too!well i guess thats about it for my introduction,happy hunting everyone!

yf
                                                                                                                                     dave

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
Re: just wanted to say hello!
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2007, 12:45:59 pm »
Hello Dave, and welcome! Sounds like you've got the bug - it starts with just a hint of a sore throat and.......Anything you need to know ask and ye shall recieve here :).
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.

Bishop

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2007, 09:15:59 pm »
Dave
welcome, in my opinion you couldnt have found a better place as far as pimitive archery goes, everyone here is very quick to help with a problem or offer great advice.
i am new to making bows myself, i am almost finished with my first board bow. good luck !
Bishop

jamie