Author Topic: A few bows, etc, from our Washington, DC trip.  (Read 5106 times)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
A few bows, etc, from our Washington, DC trip.
« on: November 25, 2007, 02:09:23 pm »
These are some of the few bows on display in the National Museum of American Indians in DC and at the Notural History Museum. Not too many to look at...

[attachment deleted by admin]
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Re: A few bows, etc, from our Washington, DC trip.
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2007, 02:11:21 pm »
Cool! Thanks for sharing.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2007, 02:14:45 pm »
and a few other items...   I had to throw Cupid in there with his bow! ;)

[attachment deleted by admin]
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Little John

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2007, 03:44:40 pm »
I wonder if these are really old bows or turn of the century bows. Any way they seem to ne nicely made. The Mesa Verde musem only has one bow on display. I guess our bunch could make them up some replica bows, a lot better than none for the people to look at. Of course not even one out of 100 would apreciate them for what they are. Thanks also for shareing.   Kenneth
May all of your moments afield with bow in hand please and satisfy you.            G. Fred Asbell

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2007, 04:20:57 pm »
One odd thing there at the National Museum of American Indians was the full wall display of guns that were used against the NA. Guns of all size and description dating from the 1500s to the early 20th century. Probably 100 or more. When I asked about bows they said they had lots of bows and arrows cataloged and stored. With some communication ahead of time maybe you get a personal showing.
   Pat