Author Topic: Scraping Hill cane, and it's spine..  (Read 3814 times)

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Scraping Hill cane, and it's spine..
« on: August 26, 2013, 08:31:11 am »
Im new to cane shafting, and always learning. My buddy hippy gave me a batch of shafts in May and I straightened out 4 and made arrows with them right away, they flew great from several bows and are tough as nails. I lost one all summer,  and that was with attending 4 shoots/camp out even!

I made up 3 more over the last week. I went out to shoot them yesterday morning. WOW, they flew miserable and practically hit my target side ways. I was confused and upset, these are the shafts I had set aside to hunt with. I bet half the day went by before it finally dawned on me what was going on. I never scraped the rind off and sanded these new shafts as I did the first 4. It was night and day difference in spine from raw to scraped and lightly sanded.

Lesson learned  ;D
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Badly Bent

Re: Scraping Hill cane, and it's spine..
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 08:35:44 am »
Do a deep cut out, center shot shelf in all your bows and they will fly perfect Pearl. >:D >:D >:D
I ain't broke but I'm badly bent.

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2013, 09:12:57 am »