Author Topic: less than perfect shot  (Read 3559 times)

Offline GlisGlis

less than perfect shot
« on: November 15, 2013, 05:35:49 am »
I've no hunting experience so excuse me if my answer is noobish.
I've seen various videos on game dressing and meat preservation but they're allways on game hit in the lungs/heart area.
I'm sure that there are many cases in witch the lower organs are pierced.
is the meat still usable in those cases? how do you proceed with dressing?
Any link on that topic will be wellcome. I've searched but I could have missed the right words.
thankyou in advance

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: less than perfect shot
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2013, 06:49:53 am »
Sure it is,just field dress as normal [little messier/stinker ] then rinse the body cavity out  really good and move on just like any other.  :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline lostarrow

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2013, 10:21:30 am »
Just like Pappy said. Likely have to cut out  the tainted stuff around the wound that you won't be able to get cleaned out.

Offline GlisGlis

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2013, 10:27:53 am »
thankyou both for the quick reply.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2013, 11:04:05 am »
One more tip, hang them head up so they drain at will, unless its being processed right away. Hanging them back legs up can store all kinds of nasty in the chest cavity and neck area and create oppressive stink.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline lostarrow

« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2013, 08:29:47 pm »
Do you split the chest and wedge it open, Pearly?

Offline Prarie Bowyer

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2013, 12:58:13 pm »