Author Topic: newbie ash tiller question  (Read 2027 times)

Offline sieddy

• Guaranga! :)
newbie ash tiller question
« on: April 18, 2014, 01:23:27 pm »
Hey guys
This is my first post on here but I have been enjoying these pages for a few months. Given the incredible craftsmanship displayed on here I would be reluctantly put a picture of my attempt at a bow. But I need help to progress my project and would really appreciate some input. The pictures show a short 58" ash bow made from a stave. I mean for it to be bend thru the handle and hope to sinew back it. I don't know the deadweight But it feels similar to a 40# bow I have.   One of my problems is that one limb is bending nicely an the other is stiff- however the stiff limb is already a good deal thicker Than the other and the limb that is bending has more natural deflex than the stiff one. These are the factors causing me concern on the tillering.
Since these photos we're taken i have removed more material from the fades and near the tips and heattreated it (which has lessened the amount of set) 
Your views would be gratefully recieved.
Thanks Siedd
"No man ever broke his bow but another man found a use for the string" Irish proverb

Offline sieddy

Re: newbie ash tiller question
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2014, 01:27:19 pm »
Sorry I meant that the stiff limb is thinner than the bendy one!
Siedd
"No man ever broke his bow but another man found a use for the string" Irish proverb

Offline lukelawrence171

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2014, 01:31:09 pm »
your right limb is very stiff the limb shape seems to be bending well but i think the main reason is that there is that reflex in the left limb and and you might have weakened it too much if you are at 40# right now i wouldn't take off much more but that right limb is way too stiff. and uneven reflex will make it hard this is a tough one

Offline lukelawrence171

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2014, 01:32:14 pm »