Author Topic: BIG SNAKE! What kind is it?  (Read 4116 times)

Offline okie64

BIG SNAKE! What kind is it?
« on: June 12, 2014, 02:22:47 pm »
My wifes uncle ran over this guy yesterday and told me I could have it. Im thinking its just a water snake but not real sure as Ive never seen one this big. He measured 85" before I skinned him out! The biggest water snakes I have seen around here are about 4 feet or so but Im no snake expert by any means. He should be pretty on a couple of bows. The board hes stapled to is an 8 foot 2x6. What do yall think?

Offline osage outlaw

Re: BIG SNAKE! What kind is it?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2014, 02:23:51 pm »
That's a black rat snake.  And it is a big one for sure.  I love black rat snakes.  A lot of the time they are big enough to back an entire bow.  You get that gradual color change from light to dark on it. 
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 02:30:42 pm by osage outlaw »
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2014, 02:26:20 pm »
Here is one I picked up off the road last year.  It ended up on the BOY if you want to see what it looks like finished up.  I split the fat snakes down the side so I can use the belly scales as a backing.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2014, 03:04:06 pm »
Im in love...........
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline PrimitiveTim

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2014, 03:57:16 pm »
I wish they would have gotten proof of its length before they skinned it cause that would be a record I think.  That's over 7 ft.
Florida to Kwajalein to Turkey and back in Florida again.  Good to be home but man was that an adventure!

Offline okie64

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2014, 05:10:13 pm »
Yep that is definitely it Clint, thanks for the info.