Author Topic: Osage Belly knot cluster - chrysals - PATCHED!  (Read 6709 times)

Offline bubbles

• PM110769
Osage Belly knot cluster - chrysals - PATCHED!
« on: June 18, 2014, 05:30:01 pm »
I'm attempting an hickory backed Osage recurve from an osage board.  Shooting for 50#@26, 62"ntn, 1/5"wide.  I'm at about 50#@23" right now. On the top limb, there are two little clusters of pin knots. I noticed that in the lower cluster, the wood inside the knots seems to be chrysaling.  I'd rather not have those spread to the rest of the limb - is there anything I can do? I guess my choice of board wasn't the greatest, but it was slim pickin's.  I soaked the cluster in a bit of thin CA, I don't really know what I expected that to do. I thought of drilling out the knots just a bit and filling with Epoxy and sawdust,  or will the chrysals stay contained to the wood inside the knot? This is my first attempt with osage, so I'm not sure how venerable it is because of those knots.  The limb doesn't appear to be hinging to bad where the knot is, but I'm not at full draw yet.  The knot in question is between the fade and the pencil mark mid limb on the top limb.

« Last Edit: July 04, 2014, 08:47:55 pm by bubbles »

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Osage Belly knot cluster - chrysals
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014, 05:33:15 pm »
That's a toughy. That grain swirl doesn't want to bend straight back naturally so its wrinkling up on you. My suggestion is to continue on and see what happens. Then glue another up! If it holds, great. Some fella's like plugs, not me.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline JonW

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2014, 11:00:30 pm »
Finish it out and see. I really don't like to see them that close to the edge.

mikekeswick

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2014, 03:27:58 am »