Author Topic: Advice Getting Started  (Read 2205 times)

Offline Tippecanoe41

Advice Getting Started
« on: July 21, 2014, 01:19:34 am »
Hey everybody.  I'm just getting into primitive archery and I'm looking for some advice in getting started.  Basically, I would like a place to start learning.  If anybody could recommend the best book for how to create bows, arrows, arrowheads, and so on, I'd appreciate your help as I start the hobby.  Thanks in advance. 

Offline red hill

Re: Advice Getting Started
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 01:30:31 am »
Tip, get a copy of "Hunting the Osage Bow" by Dean Torges and "The Traditional Bowyer's Bible vol 1".  Both will get started right. And listen too these guys!

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2014, 01:33:17 am »
To tell you the truth this is the place you need to be you will find everything you need to know is right here for the asking
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline CustomArcher15

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2014, 03:19:38 am »
The bowyers bibles 1-3 are the biggest help starting bow making and the 4th is amazing but you probably should get it a little after you make a couple bows but the 4th has more arrow making stuff if I remember correctly. Get an old drawknife with a little curvature to the blade and pick one up at a flea market or ebay or something similar. Get a Nicholson #50 rasp and a farriers rasp too but the farriers isn't ABSOLUTELY needed but helpful. Pick up a goose neck scraper and a few rectangular scrapers. Check out boarriorbows on YouTube, and just look up as much as you can on the internet and ask questions here. This is how I started. You can get more tools and better tools if you please but I would say this is all that would be required. Welcome to the communtity!

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2014, 04:13:51 am »