Author Topic: Couple O Questions about backing and flipping tips...  (Read 3745 times)

Offline hurlbri1

Couple O Questions about backing and flipping tips...
« on: September 18, 2014, 04:30:07 pm »
It's been a while since I built any bows.  I am far from an expert.  Got a few shooters, but that's it.  My big disappointment is the one I made my 6'4" buddy as a gift.  He broke it.  Drew it to his ear instead of his chin...a few extra inches...it wasn't spectacular, but I felt horrible...not that I'm good enough to be making bows for others but he loved our shoots out in Michigan and he was the best man at my wedding...couldn't resist.

I mention that because now I'm a bit scared so I want to try backing...and flipping the tips since I seem to get a bit more set that than I like.  I got a nice rift sawn ash board.  72" tip to tip. 2 inches wide at the fades.  Pyramid design to 9/16" wide tips.  I want it to come in around 30# at 28" when it's all said and done.  I'm considering this my "practice bow" before making my friend another.

Question #1 order of process.  As I read through here on all the great build alongs and past advice, I see the process as: 1) Get a decent tiller--past floor tiller, but before final tiller--no hinges, bending evenly and smoothly 2) Flip tips 3) back bow (in my case, I'm going to try the dog bone rawhide) 4) finish tillering. 

So, is this the right order?  Do I need to completely tiller first, then flip tips, THEN back and adjust? Or do I flip tips first, then tiller?