Author Topic: Practice with hunting arrows?  (Read 3484 times)

Offline DuBois

Practice with hunting arrows?
« on: October 06, 2014, 02:04:23 pm »
I got 3 hunting arrows in trade and I want to practice with what I will use for the real deal but I shot one and it lost it's head and foreshaft in the bail.

Is there a trick to what is best to shoot hunting arrows into or tips to care for them after practice and prior to hunting?

I am new to this and pretty ignorant yet.

Thanks, Marco.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Practice with hunting arrows?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 03:26:20 pm »
Steel or stone tips?
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline PrimitiveTim

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 04:19:05 pm »
This is what I do and it works.  I just go out and take a shot.  A little while later I go back out and take another shot.  It's just a bunch of plastic bags stuffed in a plastic bag.  When one gets tore up I just throw them in another bag.  It's easy to miss but you don't shoot unless you're completely confident on the shot just like with hunting.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_B85ilgrXs&list=UU9l4lrfkOEV5iNSju5GxM_g
Florida to Kwajalein to Turkey and back in Florida again.  Good to be home but man was that an adventure!

Offline 4giveme

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 05:17:44 pm »
Marco
I will try to help. but shoot into something that you can push the arrow through. that barb will not come out the way in went in. call when you can.
tommy
God bless and thanks,
Tommy

"There are only two things we can't change, yesterday and tomorrow. So let's live in the moment and make the best choices we can right now."

Unknown author.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2014, 06:32:14 pm »
Make sure barbed heads are legal in Minnysoda Doobs. Most nordern states don't allow dem eh!