Author Topic: 79" Laminated English Warbow first longbow!  (Read 4667 times)

Offline Arbator177

79" Laminated English Warbow first longbow!
« on: October 05, 2014, 09:40:07 pm »
Hello everyone! I'm new to longbow making and to this forum as well.  Although I've read a lot of topics on the forums that have helped me and have finally taking the initiative to build my own Warbow! Hope you can help me through some of the process 

The material I ended up using is a hickory back 1/4" thick with the core being 1/4" thick red oak and 1" hard maple. These were the choices I was sort of limited with the wood I was limited to in my area. I figured the hickory for the back because of it's straight grain and how dense it is. Red oak because it's a hardwood for the core and hard maple because it's softer to give it more flexibility and making it so it's not impossible to pull back haha. Not sure if these choices are smart or have been done before, but it's my first bow and I like having the challenge!

The style is the classic D shaped bow and the measurements are having the handle centered on the staff with 2.5" on either side. 1.5" thick at the handle and from the ends tapered down to 9/16ths at the tips (giving the extra 1/16th for room for error.) now for the width I also tapered to the same fashion although kept it 1.5" at the handle. And I think I may have made the measurement incorrect because the taper I feel should've been less gradual and tapered more near the end. Making it less of a straight line. Not sure if that makes any sense but I think I can work around it and possibly someone can tell me the reason for the now staying wider until the tips maybe for twisting reasons? I digress.