Author Topic: Apprentice Horn Bowyer :)  (Read 11032 times)

Benn_of_Trades

Apprentice Horn Bowyer :)
« on: October 13, 2014, 11:54:46 pm »
Hello all,
  I am completely new to bow making with horn. I have made many bows from staves, boards and even some pvc ones ( not a fan of pvc at all). I would like to learn to all that I can to make horn bows, but alas I cannot find a good source for information on this subject, Everything I find is sketchy or so limited I am unsure how to begin or even were or what materials to use. I could really use some time of Step by step guide or book on how to master this craft. If anyone has any information for me I would greatly appreciate your insight and knowledge.

mikekeswick

Re: Apprentice Horn Bowyer :)
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2014, 01:54:10 am »
Adam Karpowzi's book is a 100% must have. http://www.ottoman-turkish-bows.com/
I cannot recommend this book more highly.

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2014, 08:51:32 am »
The only problem is you will have to find one that is used, get someone to loan you it, or read German. There are not any left in English.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

blackhawk

« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2014, 08:58:36 am »
In your other thread you mention only making a few bows? And here you state you've made many?  ??? Wood you care to share and show these bows you've made ;) it can be hard to judge experience level by self biased hearsay only  ::)  ;)

Hope this isn't another case of you can be anything ya want to be on the interwebs... ::) 

Benn_of_Trades

« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2014, 09:20:44 am »
Hmm I will have to do some searching for that book since I do not speak or read German. I do appreciate the information and references from everyone so far thank you.