Author Topic: Horn tips...  (Read 5234 times)

Offline Staver

Horn tips...
« on: January 12, 2008, 05:59:47 pm »
I'm new to this site and was interested in making some horn tips on some future bows.  I've never done it before and was wondering if there is already a build-a-long on this topic.  I've seen different types of horn tips and I like the kind that I've seen Pappy make for his bows.  (Pappy - your bows are amazing! :)) Is there a part of the horn that works the best (base vs middle vs tips).  What kind of glues work the best etc.  Just thought I'd throw the question out there because I think the horn tips look really nice and all you guys have excellent suggestions.  Thanks, JoeH

Offline markinengland

Re: Horn tips...
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2008, 06:35:14 pm »
I have used only water buffalo horn. This seems to be Ok no matter what part of the hoirn is used. There tends to be a weak point or line down the very centre of the horn but it seems solid on all the bits I have cut.
I have used aerolite 306, resorcinol and exoxy which seem OK. Recently I have used a thick superglue type that is sued to stick knife scales on. Seems to work very well and very quickly.
I think it is important to prepare the surfaces in the right way and put appropriate pressure on as stress can be quite high.
Mark in England

Online Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2008, 06:44:58 pm »
Joe, Generally the smoother sections of antler are the best although the knarly stuff looks cool. Your main concern with tip reenforcement(antler, horn, bone, wood, etc) is being sure you have good mating surfaces on the bow tip and antler. I have used gel super glue and 2Ton epoxy and I know folks that use TBIII or even hide glue.