Author Topic: Noob with a stick.  (Read 2801 times)

Offline Jared C

Noob with a stick.
« on: October 31, 2014, 08:00:20 pm »
Hey guys my name is Jared and I'm new to crafting bows and this site. I've made 3 bows so far, two board bows and a sapling bow. Only one of them shoots and not all that well but I am so very proud of it. I learned a lot from my first three tries and I really want to make a bow ,start to finish, from a tree in my own woods. I cut down a small Sycamore Maple that was encroaching on my driveway and I wanted to try to use the little fella. I went ahead and split him and took the bark off. I think the wood is beautiful but I'm not sure if it will make a good bow or if I will be able to deal with the kinks and twist as a beginner.  If you guys think the maple will make a good bow what should my next steps be? Should I seal the ends? How long should I let it dry? Thank you all in advance for your help!!
-Jared
p.s. - I am going to try to get my pictures to the correct file size so I can attach them.

Online Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Noob with a stick.
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2014, 08:05:38 pm »
Welcome Jared. I'm not familiar with the properties of sycamore maple. When in doubt, make it long and wide. (68"x2")
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline dueb

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2014, 08:09:13 pm »
I'm still a noob as well, but I know you should seal the ends of the wood immediately. Some people use glue or oil based paint. If you don't seal it the wood will crack and check.

There are only a few woods that are not suitable at all for a bow (like Palm?). Other than that you can use any wood, as long as you have a good stave and design it right.

Good luck!
If you would hit the mark, you must aim a little above it: Every arrow that flies feels the pull of the earth.
― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Offline Jared C

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2014, 08:21:05 pm »