Author Topic: Stand up/ Lay down?  (Read 2923 times)

Offline Tree_Ninja

• Clandestine Bow-ops
Stand up/ Lay down?
« on: November 26, 2014, 08:54:31 am »

Hey Folks,

I've been lurking on here for about a  year now.  I'm a forest technician (logging) living on vancouver island.  I've built two bows  so far (pics in the future).  There's lots of great knowledge and inspiration on this site and in the magazines...

So here's the thing. I am "impatient" and have made staves and bows from oceanspray I only dried for 6-8 months.  For the most part the bows are averaging around 15% moisture (pin reader).  I cut a stave out in in the bush from a yew, (I was going to leave the stave in he bush to freak out the loggers),  but as I chopped away I started to like it.  I attempted to heat treat some bends out of it, and thought I had succeeded.

I placed the unfinished staves on top of my heater vent (standing on tips) to dry out further for final tiller.   About 5-7 days later I looked at the yew stave, and it had returned to it's original shape, and It formed some major deflex.  I also suspect the oceanspray I stood up to have taken a bit of deflex on one limb.

I will never stand up my staves again.

My question is,  has anyone ever experienced this before with greenish wood?   All of my wood is drying (with sealed ends) in my garage standing up.

Should I lie my wood down as well?  I thought standing them up would get more air flow, but I worry the weight of it will cause it to twist and curve while drying.

Thanks

-    JH

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Stand up/ Lay down?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2014, 09:26:57 am »
I stand all mine up. There is a difference between standing up a 1.5" round trunk of OS and a 1/4 log of wood. Bigger 1/4's are more stable and stay put while they dry. I have horizontal screws in the walls in my stave stash room that I hang branches and small limbs on to dry.