Author Topic: Eastern Washington Bow Wood Help  (Read 6399 times)

Offline whyem93

Eastern Washington Bow Wood Help
« on: November 18, 2014, 11:03:07 am »
Hi, I'm totally new to crafting my own bows but i love it! I have attempted on cedar 12 times and all of them exploded in my face. I'm starting to think that cedar is not a good bow wood. I live in eastern Washington state. Spokane to be exact. After much searching the internet but no success, I still can't find the bow wood that natives used in my area. Quite frankly, i just want to know what wood i can use in this area. Also, any pointers to bow making would be a great plus.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Eastern Washington Bow Wood Help
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 11:09:02 am »
Western re cedar isn't necessarily good bow wood but you have others in your area that makes great bows....yew, vine maple, cascara, choke cherry, ocean spray and others. You may even have locust; not a native but introduces al along the west coast.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline whyem93

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2014, 11:17:09 am »
Thanks, I'll look for those, but i don't live near the coast. I'm on the border with Idaho, will i find an occasional yew there?

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2014, 12:09:31 pm »
You live a few hours from yew trees

Offline Aaron H

« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2014, 12:34:31 pm »
Imo, being a few hours from yew trees.  I would make that trip any day of the week!

Offline Billinthedesert

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2014, 12:53:32 pm »
There's an embarassment of vine maple on the wet side of the Cascades, in addition to yew, elderberry, cascara, Pacific dogwood et al!

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2014, 01:10:42 pm »
I assume then that you are in the high desert or grasslands. Juniper, choke cherry is only a guess but I'm not familiar with the flora in your area.