Author Topic: Tillering question.  (Read 2118 times)

Offline mwosborn

• Mitch Osborn
Tillering question.
« on: February 11, 2013, 11:01:18 pm »
Was shooting a few of my self bows today - I noticed that some of them like a low wrist grip and others like more of a high wrist grip.  Just trying to figure out the why.  I am sure there are many variables, but can there be any generalizations about the tiller and pressure points when gripping.  It seems to make quite a difference in how the bow shoots and feels when shot.

I am still a newbie to this self bow building - currently working on my 8th and 9th.  If I could figure out the why, I could plan for it and not just experiment with the bow once I start shooting it.  ???

Thanks for the help!

Mitch
Enjoy the hunt!  Mitch

Offline Slackbunny

Re: Tillering question.
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 11:03:13 pm »
I would guess that it has more to do with the shape of your handle than the tiller of your limbs, unless all your handles are the same, then I don't now what to tell you.

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 04:30:55 am »
What exactly do you mean by a 'wrist grip'? Maybe it's just because English isn't my native language, but I can't quite figure out what you mean...

Either way, it sounds like it's more of a shooting form or handle issue than a tiller issue.
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2013, 08:10:52 am »