Author Topic: native american bow tiller  (Read 19744 times)

Offline willie

native american bow tiller
« on: March 02, 2015, 08:50:47 pm »
I have been looking at the Steve Alley drawings and dimensions of native american bows and have been wondering why so many traditional bows were tillered the same way? (Bendy in the handle with stiffer limbs.)
Certainly the native americans were not concerned with the same things we are today, but what advantages did they realize with their designs?

Offline JonW

Re: native american bow tiller
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 09:01:27 pm »
I have no science just experience. I think the cross section of a lot of NA bows is indicative of a design that encompasses different wood species. The cross section and design will usually come out with a circular tiller. Just my attempt .

Offline PatM

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2015, 09:06:57 pm »
Were these bows documented in strung form or were speculative drawings made?

Offline adb

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2015, 09:11:00 pm »
I've seen plenty of authentic NA bows, but I've never seen one at full draw.

Offline JonW

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2015, 09:16:36 pm »
You mean that you can't judge tiller by profile and dimensions?

Offline adb

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2015, 09:18:49 pm »
Yes, sometimes.

Offline adb

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2015, 09:23:03 pm »
I can make a pretty good guess that a bow like this is going to bend too much in the handle.

Offline willie

« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2015, 09:28:30 pm »
well, when the dimensions given are consistently showing bows with little taper in width or thickness, it is not hard to image what they would tiller out like. A little more than speculation, i think.

slack bunny commented (and I agree with most of his post in the other thread).......