Author Topic: plains style quiver ?  (Read 13936 times)

john

plains style quiver ?
« on: January 29, 2008, 11:09:49 pm »
i just received a whole steer hide that was tanned whith the fur on iwant to make a few things like a plains style quiver and side quiver wondering if i could use the fur side out any one have any sugestions or  plans or drawings

Offline kayakfisher

Re: plains style quiver ?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 09:24:31 pm »
I am by no means an expert on the subject, I have made a few quivers though as far as patterns go in Jim Hamms book Bows and Arrows of the Native Americans he has a pattern thats pretty easy to follow its basically a rectangle shape one end is smaller than the other put a long enough strap so it rides about waist high he also states the plains Indians[OUR NATIVE AMERICAN BROTHERS] often made quivers from long horn hides this one is from elk hide and I know picture is bad maybe it will help give you idea

[attachment deleted by admin]
The river of life twist and bends, you never know whats around the next bend till your there

Springfield Mo home of  Kids,Tomato's and Tornado's

Offline kayakfisher

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 09:32:57 pm »
One end is ten inches wide the other end is twelve inches wide folded over the edges matched up and stitched sorry 9 1/2 instead of ten so when its folded on end will be 4 1/2 the other end will measure 6 inches it holds a dozen arrows the length is four inches shorter than arrow
The river of life twist and bends, you never know whats around the next bend till your there

Springfield Mo home of  Kids,Tomato's and Tornado's

john

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2008, 11:14:36 pm »
kayakfisher thanks for the info i really appreciate it    john

mike-dy

« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2009, 01:01:19 am »