Author Topic: Osage Bendy Tiller Check and Misc questions (Pics Added)  (Read 7056 times)

Offline BarredOwl

Osage Bendy Tiller Check and Misc questions (Pics Added)
« on: April 17, 2015, 08:53:53 pm »
Stats are 55" nock to nock, 1 3/8" wide middle 2/3 tapering to a little over 1/2" nocks for now.   It is pulled just almost to the 20" mark in the photo.  My scale was hitting 50 lbs when it was at the 20" mark.  I am not wanting to go below 45 lbs after it is all shot in.     I am pretty happy with it so far since this is my first attempt with osage and 3rd bow ever.  I am wanting to get all the draw length out of it that I can.  I am hoping for 27".  I know that is right up against what is recommended based on length of the bow.  I am willing to stop at 26 if it starts taking excessive set.   

My questions are.  What is the best way to maintain my tiller and take a little weight off to get to my draw length goal. 

I also am thinking I will flip the tips slightly.  Should I do that now? Should I have done it already?  and what is the most risk free method (dry heat, steam) to avoid checks or other issues at this point.   

Also what is a good radius for slightly flipped tip?

« Last Edit: April 19, 2015, 06:08:10 pm by BarredOwl »

Offline BarredOwl

Re: Osage Bendy Tiller Check and Misc questions
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2015, 08:56:10 pm »
Top limb is to the right and or up in all photos.

Offline ajooter

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2015, 09:04:39 pm »

I think it looks great man...very similar dimensions to one I just made.

Offline okie64

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2015, 10:48:50 pm »