Author Topic: Curious lurker  (Read 8895 times)

Offline Midnight

Curious lurker
« on: May 14, 2015, 11:36:27 pm »
I am six feet four inches tall with a draw length of thirty three inches. I have been practicing archery for about six months now and have been bitten by the bug to try my hand at building a self bow. My first question is this, how do I determine a ballpark length for the bow? My second question is would sugar maple be a good choice or would white oak be a better choice?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Curious lurker
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2015, 11:43:28 pm »
I think 72" long and bend through the handle would be a good start. After a few more replies I'm going to move this post to "BOWS" for better response. Either sugar maple of white oak would work well.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Midnight

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2015, 11:54:14 pm »
Thanks for the quick response Pat B. Sorry for posting in the wrong section.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2015, 10:28:36 am »
Not necessarily in the wrong location but you'll get better response on the "BOWS" thread. I'll go ahead and move it now.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline bubby

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2015, 11:18:31 am »
Long as you are tall bendy for your first, middle 18" 1-1/4" wide then straight taper to 1/2" tips to get started
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Blaflair2

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2015, 01:14:56 pm »
I'm 6'4" and I have a 28/29" draw. Where do u anchor?
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2015, 01:46:54 pm »