Author Topic: Questions about how to finish bow  (Read 8275 times)

Offline Dweena

Questions about how to finish bow
« on: May 16, 2015, 11:35:16 am »
Hi, I'm a newbie!

I've been pursuing target archery since December of last year. I've been shooting a commercial recurve bow, but I am very interested in shooting barebow.

I got myself a vintage longbow, which unexpectedly blew up in my face on about the 80th draw. That made me sad, because I was really enjoying shooting that thing. So I ordered a very basic longbow from Philip Silva (which turned out to come from rudderbows.com). I had to order a custom one because I am only able to draw about 20 - 22 lbs, which was way below the lowest draw weight they had in stock.

That arrived, and I started shooting it; but the hand shock was such that I started getting tendonitis in my bow hand. Even though I added a padded wrap, it was still hurting me, so I set it aside for the time being.

I am now in the middle of tillering my first bow. I decided to try to make a board bow, found a pretty good red oak board at the hardware store, and just jumped in. I backed it with linen, added extra wood to the grip so it would give less hand shock...all seemed not bad, until I got to the tillering - surprise, surprise!

I built a tillering tree and made a (crude) tillering gizmo. I'm in the long string tillering stage right now and I don't know if I'll ever be able to shave this thing down to a reasonable draw weight for myself. With the long string I can draw it, but I don't imagine that once I get the bowstring on it, that I'll be able to.

My question: how do I figure out what draw weight the bow is currently at? I see people attaching scales of some kind to the string? How is that done? I looked for more detail on George's website but couldn't find the detail I wanted about how he is actually using the scale.
I'm attaching a picture of where I was at with it last night, 18" with the long string: