Author Topic: Glass Knapping or flint and safety.  (Read 6003 times)

Offline magick.crow

Glass Knapping or flint and safety.
« on: August 03, 2015, 12:19:23 pm »
I am just getting started knapping. I have played a lot with flint on vacation but at home the flint is very limited so I decided as a beginner it was better to start with glass.
I have collected a bunch of glass bottle bottoms, so far so good. But I am sitting here after just taking a glass splinter out of my thumb. Also the stuff goes all over the place and I don't have a great place to work so how do you guys deal with these problems?  Do you just pull out the glass splinters after every work session or is there a better way? :-) Also do you use some type of mat? I also noted that the glass slivers stick to my buckskin I had over my legs, not good. I think I will try the other side next time. I used the inside, bad idea. So I am totally open to any insights, crits or ideas!

ALso how do you get glass slivers out of your thumb? I can't even see the sucker but I can feel it with my tongue.

Thanks all!
« Last Edit: August 03, 2015, 12:25:49 pm by magick.crow »

Offline PrimitiveTim

Re: Glass Knapping or flint and safety.
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2015, 12:38:43 pm »
Knap over a tarp so you can dispose of the glass easily.  You'll get better at not getting splinters in your hands eventually.  Also, when you're on vacation get your hands on as much flint as possible and bring it home. lol  Your body will naturally push out any foreign objects embedded in the skin after a few days  >:D  The more you knap the better you'll get at not getting flakes in your skin.
Florida to Kwajalein to Turkey and back in Florida again.  Good to be home but man was that an adventure!

Offline Ghost Knapper

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2015, 12:41:05 pm »
If nothing else wear good eye protection.

Offline JoJoDapyro

• Subscription Number PM109294
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2015, 01:40:03 pm »