Author Topic: Tree Service?  (Read 1567 times)

Offline Ippus

Tree Service?
« on: August 23, 2015, 07:08:21 pm »
What kind of luck have you all had sourcing wood from local tree services?

See, I'm just getting started with traditional bowyery, and I was trying to think of ways to get ahold of good wood without paying an arm and a leg. I called one of our local tree services and asked what they do with the wood from trees they drop... the answer was an exasperated grunt. Apparently it costs them quite a bit to haul it to the dump, so he said he'll let me know when he has anything I'd be interested in, and I can just take whatever I can haul...

Has anything like that worked out for anyone on here?
"There is nothing quite so gentle, deep, and irrational as our running — and nothing quite so savage and so wild.” Bernd Heinrich

Offline osage outlaw

Re: Tree Service?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2015, 07:17:09 pm »
I have never dealt with a tree trimming service but I recently met a logger who has hooked me up big time on bow wood.  Call around to anybody who cuts wood.  You might talk to the county and city workers who trim trees.  If someone does get you some bow wood maybe buy them lunch or something.  A little gift like that will make them remember you in the future.  I gave the logger a knife I just finished up. 
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline randman

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2015, 08:07:23 pm »