Author Topic: Seasoning wood without meters  (Read 2167 times)

Offline Ippus

Seasoning wood without meters
« on: September 04, 2015, 11:28:03 am »
I'm just getting started with bowmaking, and the budget is super-tight. I've found humidity meters online in the $5-$10 range, but it could be awhile before I can get my hands on one. Looks like even a cheap moisture meter might be $20+, and I recall reading something about their accuracy being variable...

Given:
  • RH in my area ranges from 10-50% this time of year - I'm in semi-arid SE Idaho.
  • Humidity in my basement tends to be more stable and not as dry, as far as I can tell; I have some stove-length chunks of cherry and black locust that have been down there for 2-3 years and look as tight as the day they were cut (no checking or splitting that I can tell) - their larger brethren in the outdoor woodpile are split like mad.
  • I will most likely be working with Siberian elm (I have a tree-service guy who will just give me what I can haul away). I was planning to split it and seal the ends, but leave the bark on, and eventually turn it into ELBs with the sapwood on... for my first few projects.

1) Is it feasible to season wood without benefit of RH meter in the basement to actively monitor, and no moisture meter for the wood itself?
2) Can I just weigh the wood green and then check it progressively until I'm seeing no further weight loss?
3) If I can't track down an accurate enough scale, is there a rough way to judge when the stave should be dry enough?
4) Given that I'm splitting it to stave-width, should I try to dry it faster with the bark off, or is that too big a risk given the aridity of my local climate?
"There is nothing quite so gentle, deep, and irrational as our running — and nothing quite so savage and so wild.” Bernd Heinrich

Offline wizardgoat

Re: Seasoning wood without meters
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2015, 11:46:31 am »