Author Topic: I wanna start knapping  (Read 3809 times)

keekeerun

I wanna start knapping
« on: February 11, 2008, 10:13:16 am »
Hi everyone I'm new to the primitive side and I think its awesome. I cut some rose shoots yesterday and I'D like to put some stone up front. Does anyone have any suggestions on the tools I need to get started knapping I read that Native Americans used deer antler. Are there any threads on this site that go thru the steps in knapping.  thanks a bunch  Keekeerun.

jamie

Re: I wanna start knapping
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 10:40:49 am »
if you do a search there are several good posts on knapping. you can also check out youtube. do a search there for flintknappingtips. thats my favorite series of knapping videos. there are others just as good but i like marty's series. also this place has some excellent fellas who can walk you through just about anything. where you from? being with an experienced knapper will go a long ways when learning to knap. peace

keekeerun

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2008, 11:46:44 am »
Thanks jamie.  I'm from southcentral Pennsylvania, I just got some #4 copper wire and made a knapping tool,  I will check out your suggestions thanks

jamie

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2008, 12:43:45 pm »
look for some knap ins too. i have an event in june in connecticut. a bit of a drive for ya though. if you are interested give me a p.m. and ill get ya some details on it

Offline Otoe Bow

• Mike Chase, Afghanistan
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2008, 02:32:14 pm »
I'll second the YouTube endorsement.  Good info for free.  The great part about knapping that I've found so far is that it takes very little to get started (I mean all you really need are rocks) and very little time to actually make an arrowhead, (most of mine so far have been from flakes, but hey, they're sharp and pointy and look like arrowheads).  I've yet to knapp an honest to goodness point or blade, but I'm getting there.