Author Topic: WHere to procure EWB  (Read 7703 times)

Offline root

WHere to procure EWB
« on: September 27, 2015, 10:42:15 am »
Where is a good place to buy a ready to shoot English war bow?

I'm not interested in making one only the arrows.

I see the prices are from 50.00 USD to the sky is the limit.
Are the ones on Ebay that are strung with 550 paracord any good? they are a synthetic bow.

I'm no archer so I won't shoot it much but  I will shoot it once in a while maybe 2x a year.

I'm really looking for a test bow to test  Tudor bodkins I forge.

Speaking of forge off I go to smack metal.
Thanks
Rich

I like sharp things, pointy things, and sharp pointy things!
Boomerangs too!

Offline Lucasade

Re: WHere to procure EWB
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2015, 05:00:49 am »
I'm no expert but I would advise extreme caution if buying anthing sold as a warbow unseen from the internet - and invest in lots of personal protective equipment before you draw it.

Alternatively as you are making Tudor bodkins you presumably know other people with similar interests - ask around and there may well be a friendly warbow enthusiast near you to hook up with.

Offline Urufu_Shinjiro

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2015, 10:01:48 am »
If the bow you get has enough draw weight to actually qualify as an EWB and you're not a regular archer then there's no point in getting one as you will not be able to safely shoot the thing, it takes a lot of effort and practice to be able to even draw one of these bows.

Offline Ardent

• Imgur albums of my work
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2015, 02:49:02 pm »
If you are really only going to use it for testing purposes, you could probably find someone trustworthy who you could mail the points to who could test them for you with their own warbow. If you can't find someone locally, that is.

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2015, 06:01:42 pm »