Author Topic: 50" Stone Sheep Horn Bow  (Read 23475 times)

Offline ChristopherHwll

50" Stone Sheep Horn Bow
« on: January 29, 2016, 09:10:38 am »
Hey all, my name is Christopher and I am new to the PA community.  I have been making bows for over twenty-five years, since I was about ten years old.  I thought it was about time to join in and share some of my bows.  So for my first bow building post I thought I would post a bow that I have wanted to build myself for many years.  Acquiring the right horn took some time.  So here is a build along for my current 50" stone sheep horn bow.  I am about two thirds done at this point so I am going to bring this post up to speed quickly.  This bow is constructed of stone sheep horns, elk leg sinew, elk backstrap sinew, and a glue I make of elk, bison, and white-tail sinew.  For the finished bow I am considering naturally dyeing white-tail rawhide to a deep red and having it fade to black at the tips.  So here we go...

The horns as I received them.  One is 33 1/2" around the curl and the other is 33 1/4":
« Last Edit: January 29, 2016, 10:53:20 am by ChristopherHwll »

Offline ChristopherHwll

Re: 50" Stone Sheep Horn Bow
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2016, 09:13:14 am »
Starting to process the horns.  Same method discussed in TBB. Drill holes and go slow so that you do not ruin your horns.

Offline ChristopherHwll

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2016, 09:14:57 am »
You must look for any imperfections in your set of horns like this one and remove material until the horn is solid.

Offline ChristopherHwll

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2016, 09:20:13 am »