Author Topic: Started on a new piece of yeller today  (Read 3393 times)

Offline StickMan47

Started on a new piece of yeller today
« on: February 28, 2016, 06:17:58 pm »
As the title says, I'm starting a new bow. This may turn into a follow along as I'm tryin to take pics of my progress. I am by no means an expert, heck I'm not sure I have even left the novice category yet!  ;D
I don't usually post up the stuff I make cause it just ain't on the same level as what you guys are making. Ya'll make some fine bows and I gotta say thanks, cause I've learned a lot from trolling everybody's posts.
So here we go. Got me a piece of Osage been hangin out in my stash for bout 4 years. It's 73" long right now with 2 1/2" of natural reflex; I'm hoping to keep most of that when its all said and done.

Hope that worked. So I spent 4 hours today getting the back chased. Fairly clean stave with some pins here and there and a nice character knot that will be right about center of one of the limbs.

Took about an hour for me to work that knot. Finally wrapped some 180 grit around the head of a wood screw to get down to my ring. Screw also worked good for digging out the punky stuff.

« Last Edit: February 28, 2016, 08:56:26 pm by StickMan47 »
Makin fine firewood, one bow at a time!

Offline Dances with squirrels

Re: Started on a new piece or yeller today
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2016, 06:23:50 pm »
Oh my goodness. I hope you fully realize what you've got there. That's a Goddess of an osage stave.
Straight wood may make a better bow, but crooked wood makes a better bowyer

Offline Dances with squirrels

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2016, 06:26:30 pm »
Hmmm. For some reason, I'm really quite smitten with her  :-[

Please, please treat her right.
Straight wood may make a better bow, but crooked wood makes a better bowyer

Offline StickMan47

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2016, 06:34:46 pm »