Author Topic: Interesting find  (Read 2289 times)

Offline Stoker

Interesting find
« on: May 04, 2016, 05:31:56 pm »
Hi all.. I got the job of cleaning out the father in laws garage.. The man was a bit of a collector/packrat.. I can't ask him due to the dementia has taken it's toll.. He was big into the lapidary... He made trips into the US north west and north central.. We are in SE Alberta.. Any ways I found a point in the shop.. looks like a clovis to me but I'm no expert.. I'd like to know a liitle about it.. Odd thing that the cortex is left on one side... I'd like to frame it and give it to his great grand son
Thanks Leroy
Bacon is food DUCT tape - Cipriano

Offline stickbender

Re: Interesting find
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 05:36:05 pm »

Looks like a preform.  Sorry to hear about your Father n Law.  Something you might want to look up is benefits for dementia with organic coconut oil.

Wayne

Offline le0n

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2016, 06:30:34 pm »

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2016, 06:33:14 pm »
Looks like a Clovis to me maybe made from Knife River Flint.The white might not be cortex. It might be the side that was exposed to the sun and is the patina. You can find out by soaking it in Mineral oil for about two weeks. The patina will disappear if it is and finally come back in two or three weeks.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

AncientTech

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2016, 07:27:55 pm »
I would be really careful with that artifact, if I were you.  If you give it to a younger person he may not realize what he has.