Author Topic: 300  (Read 5831 times)

Offline DC

« on: September 08, 2016, 03:02:37 pm »
I recently extended my backyard range to 18 meters(20yds) so I marked up my target like a FITA target and I've been shooting a few 300 rounds each day. I'm not terribly impressed with my shooting. After 5 days and 10 rounds my low score is 75 and high is 126, average 98. I've been shooting for two years. Can anyone compare this with their results?

Offline Swamp Thang

Re: 300
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2016, 04:29:18 pm »
Never tried keeping score.....but I myself due to the nature of my job didn't get to shoot for months and when I picked it back up I was all over the place.

If you have the trust and time might I suggest following these steps for one week and let us know if they work for you. Stand five yards away and keep sinking arrows (not too many otherwise risk damaging good arrows) until you can pull back and release at anchor without aiming much move two steps back repeat until over the week. It feels foolish at first but it worked for me.

Offline DC

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 04:51:49 pm »
I've heard of this. Do you just do this exclusively or can you do other shooting?

Offline loon

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2016, 05:06:37 pm »
for those who don't feel like googling

The target face for the 300 Round is a 5 color FITA target face. At the 20 yard distance, this target should be 40cm in diameter

from http://www.rovingarchers.com/tournaments/monthly-tournaments/target-archery/300-rounds/

My goal is a 230 average or so.. :\ But I hit all over the target, sometimes miss, most of the time.

I think I put 3 arrows in the gold in a row once in my life.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2016, 06:15:57 pm »