Author Topic: English Longbow Help (with image)  (Read 14641 times)

Offline markc324

English Longbow Help (with image)
« on: September 16, 2016, 02:23:06 am »
Hi,

I'm new to archery and would love to learn more from all you good folks! I'm trying my hands on making a bow since I know how to build stuffs (self-taught mostly..) and am confident with my craftsmanship. The bow I am making is jatoba (brazilian cherry) backed with maple to sort of mimic the yew wood. I think I have the whole thing up to this point in pretty good, if not excellent, shape...I've rounded the belly, bevelled the edge of the backing, attached and grooved the horn nocks. Now for the scary part - tillering...as much as I love the way things turn out thus far, but with bad tiller, all these milestones will all come to the unfortunate failure. Please refer to the images attached to this post. I've added one original and one with my own diagram drawn to it. according to the diagram, i can see that the top limb (right) is bending a tiny bit more then bottom limb (left), which is ok as long as it is within ⅛" - ¼" (i've read this somewhere. please correct me if I am wrong on this). Please provide your input and thoughts on the current tiller. Feel free to add your own diagram to the original image for analysis, and also, much appreciated if you guys can give me some pointers on what to do next.

I should also mentioned that the bow is having a low brace right now, 5" to be exact, and has not bent past 6-7 inches so far. at this point, is it safe to brace to 6.5" brace height?
« Last Edit: September 16, 2016, 02:35:39 am by markc324 »

Offline markc324

Re: English Longbow Help (with image)
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2016, 02:34:33 am »
can you guy see the images attached? it shows up on my computer, but not my phone nor my wife's computer. I wonder if you guys are experiencing the same thing.

Offline WillS

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2016, 05:54:49 am »