Author Topic: Hello from San Marcos, Texas  (Read 6119 times)

Offline Novice

Hello from San Marcos, Texas
« on: September 18, 2016, 02:46:18 pm »
To the contributing members of this forum, My name is Steve, and I would like to thank you all for sharing your experience and knowledge with others here in this place. I don't know if this is the right spot for this entire post but it seems somewhat appropriate as the following is the whole reason for me being here now.

I'm an auto-body repair tech by trade (30+ yrs.), but I am a man of many other skills.  At work the call me 'MacGyver' because I can make or fix nearly anything I set my mind to with very little exception. Among my skills is the art of flint knapping which has naturally led me to make my first bow. I have had bows in the past but they have all been store bought, mass manufactured bows. I stand 6' 8" tall and have a natural draw length of 37", so as you can imagine nothing off the shelf works well for a man of my stature be it a bow or an arrow.

I have a habit of challenging my own knowledge and skills, and this adventure is not unlike any other in where I adhere to my habit true to form. Having never made a bow before I have chosen to fashion my first bow in the style of a very slender Penobscot with an elvish hint, and to construct this bow primarily from Brazilian ironwood.

Here are the stats;

Main bow:
No heat bending of limbs.
Length from tip to tip - 72 1/4", from knock to knock - 71"
String length - 67 1/2" (braced)
Full draw - 37" @ 26lb.
Rawhide backing
Polished bovine horn tip overlays

Secondary bow:
Heat bending, deflexed at both ends of the handle and at the ends of both upper and lower limbs. Unbraced, the tips are raised 4" from a flat plain. (if that makes any sense)
Length from tip to tip - 62", from knock to knock - 60"
Full draw - 13 1/2" @ 32lb.
Rawhide backing
Polished bovine horn tip overlays

Overall Bow:
Full draw 35"-36" @ 60lb-63lb