Author Topic: First Selfbow attempt: Elm Ishi-ish flatbow  (Read 3068 times)

Offline Elm Split

First Selfbow attempt: Elm Ishi-ish flatbow
« on: September 29, 2016, 03:07:33 pm »
Hello everybody!! New fellow from Italy here.
I wanted to share my first attempt at making a bow.
I was a total beginner in archery and woodworking alike. I read the TTBB and started making a traditional wooden spoon, just to get in touch with the material, than started working on a short, crooked elm trunk found during a walk in the countryside. I choosed to start this way to be sure not to waste a good piece of wood next time I buy one, and for the fun of it  ;) it seemed more primitive this way
The elm trunk was approximately 46", two big branches at its base, lots of nodes.
I took off the bark than sealed the extremities, than I couldn't help myself but to wait a month before starting working on it out of impatience.
It was a hell of a job to split, but  it came out nice between the two branches, so I started working with an hatchet and a homemade draw knife built from a long knife.

I send you some pictures: I recognize an error in leaving too much material behind nodes (it was not that necessary and it lead me to remove lots of wood on other spots in order to make the thing bend). You can already spot the first chrisalis, but hey, just a first try  :laugh:
I'm open to all kind of comments and suggestions... I'm here to learn!
Thanks everybody

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: First Selfbow attempt: Elm Ishi-ish flatbow
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 03:54:47 pm »
Welcome to PA, Elm Split.
Two obvious hinges, one on each limb. Probably where the chrysal is.   For a beginner I would suggest a longer stave, say 68".
George Tsoukalas has a great website for beginners. I think there is a link in the "How To" section.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->