Author Topic: Traditional Horse Bow  (Read 6920 times)

Offline 89JeepYJ

Traditional Horse Bow
« on: October 11, 2016, 10:21:27 pm »

Not sure if this is the proper place to post this, but just sharing my experience using the thumb draw.

My bow is a fiberglass/wood combination, but still traditional (no riser or string nock). An actual composite bow would be nice, (have you seen the price for one?) or perhaps one day I will learn how to make one.

I've been using the thumb draw for several months now. At first I struggled, but now it feels more "natural." Still need more practice thought. I never mastered the Mediterranean draw and now I can't go back to it. I tried shooting split finger again, I just simply couldn't get the hang of it. I have nothing against it, I have just simply gotten used to the thumb draw. I'm still learning different ways of drawing with a thumb ring. I typically draw up to my cheek and them release when I feel it touch. I'm drawing about 29" and 30" now.

How many of you here have used or still use the thumb draw? I'm curious.

Offline loon

Re: Traditional Horse Bow
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 05:20:56 am »
me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_ORxGUVO5I

I missed the 145m target here :P

That bow looks pretty big. It's a Kassai, right?

I think it's harder to have a clean release/straight arrow flight with a thumb draw.. trying 3 fingers and thumb draw, does thumb draw seem louder at release? To me it did. Maybe it's also because I draw less with 3 fingers, which I do very rarely nowadays... but that one time I tried it, the release was strangely quiet with very stiff arrows, even.

But it is certainly possible to have clean arrow flight and excellent accuracy with thumb draw, and I really like the benefits (less chance for the string to hit the bow arm? more stability I guess, no string pinch), so I'm sticking with it..

You can get horn bows for around $700. Gotta be really careful not to twist them, and not end up like me...