Author Topic: Turkey Camp 2017 - THINGS HAVE CHANGED!  (Read 4633 times)

Offline JW_Halverson

Turkey Camp 2017 - THINGS HAVE CHANGED!
« on: December 20, 2016, 10:40:07 pm »
I've had a number of people contacting me about possible openings in the Turkey Camp this spring.  Sorry to say, but due to unanticipated changes, I will not be hosting a camp this year. 

Many people know I am the founder and lead educator at the Black Hills Raptor Center, and yet I do not draw a salary or wages for my work with the non-profit.  Because of how this takes up so much of my time, I have been working part time for the last 6 years in order to throw my weight behind something I truly believe in, heart and soul.  After some truly difficult soul searching, I have decided I have come to the end of my rope. What little rope is left is thin and frayed and nowhere near enough for me to make a knot to hold. 

A new friend in Arizona has thrown me a lifeline that I have decided to take.  I will be moving to Yuma to take a job with her company.  Financially, it is the only choice I can make. The job begins as a six month contract as her new business explores "proof of concept".  If the start-up proves out, I may be offered additional contract work and I will explore the option of staying with her or moving back to the Black Hills to take back up where I have left off.

The other Board of Directors have generously guaranteed my place on the Board during the interim.  I will still maintain a vote and will be welcomed back when the six month job is completed. Granted, the timing could be better, as I will be leaving about the time that we are at the peak of our school program season.  If you believe in prayer, ask that other volunteers find the courage to step up.  We are also breaking ground this spring on the infrastructure and earthwork on our new facility...something that breaks my heart to miss.