Author Topic: 11/32 cedar shafts  (Read 3040 times)

Offline SMeeres3030

11/32 cedar shafts
« on: January 21, 2017, 01:09:38 am »
Sorry I am very new to arrow making. I purchased some 11/32 port orfard cedar shafts 32" and i am wondering wich weight bow they would best be suited for?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: 11/32 cedar shafts
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2017, 09:04:10 am »
What spine rating are these shafts? 11/32 cedar shafts can be anywhere from 40# or less to over 75#.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2017, 09:23:16 am »
When I first decided to try wood I didn't know anything about spine and ordered 100 Acme cedar shafts, paid about $48 for them if I remember correctly. They were tree trunks, way over spined and shot awful out of my bows. Later I learned about spine but the availability of Acme shafts had faded away.

Imagine 100 shafts needing almost no straightening and all the shafts were straight grain from one end to the other, no runout, that was an Acme shaft.

Offline SMeeres3030

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2017, 11:58:27 am »
wow those would be nice shafts. ok i am not sure on spine weight? how would i figure that out?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2017, 02:00:53 pm »
The person selling the shafts should know the spine of the shafts. If not, you'll have to determine it yourself. You can buy or build a spine tester. To build one Google James Hill Spine Tester.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline willie

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2017, 02:59:33 pm »