Author Topic: Osage selfbow Hairline Crack  (Read 10528 times)

Sleddman

Osage selfbow Hairline Crack
« on: March 12, 2008, 09:16:15 pm »
This is my fourth bow so I am fairly new to this art. I have been given a couple of staves from friends, but after starting to work the staves I'm not so sure, Ha Ha. The problem is this. The stave was dried for over five years but the sapwood was not removed under the bark. Causing several cracks into the wood grain parallel to its length. I had removed several layers of grain and thought I was safe. BUT after I had straightened and put some backset into the stave I had found twi hairline cracks running lengthwise with the grain in the interior about four inches from the tip of the top limb. None run onto or near the edge. If I dont have to I would rather not back the bow. For now I have lightly heated the limb and soaked and filled the cracks with super glue.  ??? Will this hold ??? any suggestions.  I have started to tiller the bow with a long stringer so far with no bad results.  :-[   Thanks Sleddman from Missouri

Offline 1/2primitive

• Bible believing Christian
Re: Osage selfbow Hairline Crack
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2008, 09:19:03 pm »
I think you will be fine. I saw a bow made by Brian (Koan) that was practically backed with superglue from filling cracks.  ;D    It shot all right, too. 
     Sean
Dallas/Fort Worth Tx.

greenbean

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2008, 10:36:40 pm »
If isn't a major crack just fill it with super glue and don't worry about it. I have save many bows from the wood stove that way. If you still don't feel safe you can wrap the limb after. If the crack runs to the outside of the limb I would advise wrapping afer glueing.

Offline koan

• Brian D. Mo.
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2008, 12:03:07 am »