Author Topic: Persimmon wood  (Read 5411 times)

Offline Red Arrow

Persimmon wood
« on: March 06, 2017, 05:57:09 am »
I'm a beginner at making my own bows. I'm currently working on an self bow made from an oak board from Lowe's but I really want to make bows from staves I harvest myself. I have several acres of pine, oak, and poplar so I can cut my own oak staves, possibly even ERC from adjoining properties in the woods. But, I have been asked to cut down a persimmon tree from another property nearby. Has anyone here ever used persimmon wood to make a self bow? Would it be a good wood to use?
Runnin' the Ridge
Racin' the Wind

Red Arrow, aka Ron

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: Persimmon wood
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 07:12:55 am »
Yes it make a fine bow, just watch out for the knots, they usually go deep with lots of bad wood around them, also they tend to be propelled up the log so watch for that as you split it out. Usually the first log out of the tree will be the straightest. ;)
 Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline Red Arrow

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2017, 05:30:44 am »
Thanks Pappy.

The tree I've been asked to cut down is about 50 feet high with a 15-20 foot mostly straight trunk at the bottom with at least 1 foot diameter. Of course those are just guesstimations from looking at it. But it is relatively straight at the bottom with the 1st branch at least 12-15 feet up. The lady who wants it cut down doesn't want to pay anything though but I thought it might still be worth it If I can get some good bow staves out of it, maybe a couple drum rims, and a bunch of fire wood.
Runnin' the Ridge
Racin' the Wind

Red Arrow, aka Ron

Offline gfugal

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2017, 11:01:41 am »
According to the data about its properties, it should be a great wood! but have never worked with it before. It should be stiff but flexible, and good with compression endurance.