Author Topic: Newbie here -- to the forum and bowyery in general!  (Read 6975 times)

Offline Kalvek

Newbie here -- to the forum and bowyery in general!
« on: March 06, 2017, 05:52:40 pm »
Hi everyone! I'm rather new to bowyery, and have been trying to do things solo, but have been having a bit of a difficult time with figuring things out, worrying if I have everything I need, and just general hesitation in getting started, because I worry about breaking a board I found.

I decided to finally take the plunge and join what I'm assuming is a good community for learning about bowyery and just talking shop in general. For reference as to how into this I've gotten, I went ahead and got the 4 volumes of the Traditional Bowyer's Bible, and the e-book version of Adam Karpowicz's book (the latter for much later in the future, when I want to give a composite bow a try). I've also been trying to follow Sam Harper's build-along on his website, since I don't have too much to invest into tools right now, and I also figured it would be a good starting point for my first bow (minus what he used to back his bow -- the material was just ugly and I'll be using linen instead).

I hope it isn't tacky to ask a question in my first post, but after picking through boards at my local Lowe's and Home Depot, I think I found a board with some promise. It has a few problems that I think are minor, and was wondering if anyone here would mind taking a look at some of the photos I took of it and giving me some advice? Link here: http://imgur.com/a/tl1SO (I hope it's alright to post that link. I didn't see anything saying we couldn't post image gallery links in the rules)

What I noticed in the board that's most concerning is that it has a very slight lateral warp when looking at the face of the board. If you guys can tell me if there's any other reason I might not want to, or should, use this board for my first bow, please let me know. Any constructive criticism or advice is welcome!