Author Topic: Trail camera recommendations?  (Read 1075 times)

Offline Adam

Trail camera recommendations?
« on: March 26, 2017, 10:01:19 pm »
I've never used a trail camera before but am interested in getting one to play with, but I know next to nothing about them.  I don't need super high resolution or any real fancy features, but I think the only feature I probably want is an invisible flash.  I will be using this on public land, so I don't want to spend a whole lot since there is probably a relatively high chance of it walking off at some point.  Maybe it's foolish to even try using one on public land, but I don't get out as much as I'd like during turkey season or scouting and would like to get a leg up this year.

Also, does anyone have any tips on how to hide a camera to make it less visible to thieves?  I was planning on positioning it above an average person's line of sight.

Offline osage outlaw

Re: Trail camera recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2017, 10:31:46 pm »
I have a Moultrie camera and it has worked great.  It's been out for over 2 years straight and has taken thousands and thousands of pictures with no problems.  Get one that takes AA batteries.  They seem to have a longer battery life.  Try to hang it as high as you can.  Maybe take a small ladder if that's feasible.   Get off the beaten path to an area where most people won't go.  Good luck.  Post some good pictures when you get them.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline neuse

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 07:20:52 am »
I second Moultrie, mine works great and the batteries last a very long time.
I bought a second camera, Browning Strike Force, it is a good camera but eats batteries fast.

Offline txdm

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2017, 01:24:16 pm »
I've had great luck with Moultrie too.

Offline Adam

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 08:46:36 pm »
Thanks guys.  I appreciate the info.  That's a great tip about bringing a ladder too.

Offline txdm