Author Topic: Specific Tribe or just regional point styles  (Read 1957 times)

Offline Flakescarred4life

Specific Tribe or just regional point styles
« on: March 30, 2017, 10:29:40 pm »
Hello everyone! So i'm new. I've been knapping for 2 years now and found someone who likes my work. I am by no means an expert in knapping,Native Americans, or identifying points. So when my potential first client requested that i make him a bunch of Apache style arrowheads, knife blades, spearheads, and atlatl points, I said "no problem". Except there is a problem... I can't find any tribe specific points. no matter what i type into google, it always gives me regional point styles. So, if anyone can help with this dilemma of mine, it would be greatly appreciated. 

Offline Zuma

Re: Specific Tribe or just regional point styles
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2017, 10:48:08 pm »
There is very little tribal information on point type/style.
Archaeologically, most point types are done by  culture.
Paleo, Archaic ,Woodland, with some transitional aspects.
Up and until the advent of ceramics and farming most point
styles were very, very similar across America.
After that they became more regional.
Zuma
If you are a good detective the past is at your feet. The future belongs to Faith.

Offline turbo

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2017, 08:19:17 am »
If he said Apache arrows then you would have a lot to draw from; bow, arrows, quivers and all.

Offline nclonghunter

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2017, 08:51:23 am »