Author Topic: Pacific Dogwood build along.... Update- Broken...  (Read 8530 times)

Offline Blayne

• Top Predator Outdoors
Pacific Dogwood build along.... Update- Broken...
« on: April 07, 2017, 04:09:59 pm »
I have never done one of these before and it seems like a good way to learn from the experienced fellows on this site.

Last spring I was given this log of Pacific Dogwood from a tree surgeon who had come to remove danger trees from the campground where I was working. As I was chatting with him before he began his day I of course asked him what kind of wood he was removing, and if he took out anything interesting, 6' long, to save it for me. Hoping there were going to be some yew on his list, of course, but there weren't. He did mention dogwood, and I said "sign me up!" So as I am going around picking up all the firewood sized pieces I see this nice big dogwood log, 7' long. It weighed a ton! Not really but holy cow it was a bugger to load in my truck! I got it into a back shed and split it in half so it could dry and lighten up. It sat there all summer until the Cumberland Woodbow Gathering, which was at the same campground. I decided it would be cool to split half of it into four staves for three of my friends from PA, Wizard Goat, DC and Tree Ninja.

I have the most experience with yew and a few boards, and have had a hard time with white woods. My biggest problem has been trying to get the tips to line up, using heat to get the wood to move. So for this build I am going to be diligent to make sure that everything stays lined up so I won't have to deal with this problem.

This is the stave. Two of the staves split out nicely but the second side started to run out, so DC took it home and cut it in half with his bandsaw.

So of course I start with a string line to line everything up.