Author Topic: The next step...  (Read 3010 times)

Offline Iowahedge

The next step...
« on: June 05, 2017, 09:50:28 am »
Finally have a bow made that  was decent enough tiller wise and aesthics to take to a bow shoot over the weekend.  Have to say it was extremely fun to shoot the bow. My problem/question is the bow came in at about 33 lbs @ 28". Im shooting off the knuckle, and i would guess roughly 1/2" off center of the bow. The arrows I used were not primitive in anyway and I'm fairly certain over spined and rather heavy.   I'm wondering what diameter and length would be best for some good ole garden stakes. Or something along that lines. I figure most of the build alongs that say 3/8" or 10 mm are for a bit stiffer spine than what Im needing.  Got more bows in the works (doesnt everyone) that will hopefully come in at at a heavier weight, and should be easier to find shafts for.  Would  like to get this one set up with some arrows cause Im new to PA and I can work on form. I would think even being a lighter draw weight if i get some lighter shafts tuned it can perform will enough to shoot some more events. Cause even with my poor shooting and mismatched shafts have to say that it was a blast. Can check shooting a bow ive made at a event off the bucket list. 

Offline DC

Re: The next step...
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2017, 10:29:15 am »
If you use bamboo garden stakes buy the 4' ones. With the variance in diameter and the ability to position a 30" arrow anywhere in the 4' you can come up with just about any spine you want.

Offline Buck67

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2017, 02:25:46 pm »
My experiences with bamboo garden stakes is that the same 5/16 diameter bamboo can spine out at 25#, 45#, 75# or 95#.  If you have a lot of bamboo stakes, I started with 300, and a good spine tester you can eventually find a handful of bamboo stakes that will meet your needs.