Author Topic: Bamboo shafts  (Read 3774 times)

Offline Iowahedge

Bamboo shafts
« on: June 22, 2017, 11:46:34 am »
Going to try my hand at some wal-mart special bamboo shafts. Ive read several on line how tos. Tenbrooks being the best one. How straight will the shafts straighten out.  Its my first try at making them and tried a couple out and with heat gun it isnt horribly hard to get them bending. The "straight" section between the nodes are fairly easy to get "straightened" but how much do the nodes need to line up. I can post pictures later of what i got so far.  Or if anyone has a picture of a straightened shaft at a angle you can see all the nodes before any nodes are sanded or rolled flat that would be great.

Offline loon

Re: Bamboo shafts
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 12:20:40 pm »
it's really difficult. heating the shaft and then bending it while pressing/burnishing(rubbing against something hard) the high side seems to help with the worst bends

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 12:44:58 pm »
I sand the nodes down if they stick up too much.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2017, 02:58:42 pm »
If when you spin the arrow on its point and the nock end and point spin nicely, they will work. Regardless of the wobble in between. If the nock end or point end wobbles, they wont fly nice regardless of how straight the shaft is in between. Hope that makes sense.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline DC

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2017, 10:29:57 am »
Make sure you wrap the nock area with strong thread. I use Kevlar. One of mine unwrapped and I never noticed. It split right up past the fletching with just a 40# bow. I had also glued a bamboo skewer insert into the nock area.

Offline Iowahedge