Author Topic: Hazel shoots  (Read 4595 times)

Offline DC

Hazel shoots
« on: June 23, 2017, 03:15:19 pm »
I've been cultivating some Hazel suckers for a few years. One is oval cross section 2"x 1 3/4" where the handle will be. Is that big enough? How does Hazel do with a high crown? I'll cut it i the fall if it's deemed big enough.

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
Re: Hazel shoots
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2017, 04:27:44 pm »
You would get a bow from that, it is wide enough, but I'd be inclined to leave it grow a while longer; hazel crysals fairly readily, so, wide, flat or rectangular cross sections work well, although hollow-limb design is an excellent option for high-crown hazel

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2017, 04:33:52 pm »
Old Del and the UK members could help you out here.
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2017, 05:52:32 pm »
Old Del and the UK members could help you out here.

I spent a productive hour this morning cruising though Del's blog.

mikekeswick

« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2017, 02:08:33 am »
A high crown is perfect for hazel. Hazel chrysals because the belly is working too hard compared to the back. I've only had one chrysal with Hazel and that was where a pesky pin ran across the belly. Hazel is way strong in tension but somewhat lacking in compression strength - I either trap the backs heavily or seek out high crowned staves. Heat treating turns it into something quite special :)
I really rate hazel, tends to grow very straight, very few knots, lowish density but very elastic and a good heat treating brings the bellys resistance to compression right up.
Your stave sounds perfect.

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2017, 05:10:30 am »