Author Topic: Goose Feather Questions  (Read 3093 times)

Offline upstatenybowyer

Goose Feather Questions
« on: July 06, 2017, 08:59:56 pm »
Hi folks. I'm very new to arrow making. Just discovered a great way to use my bandsaw for making shafts, so now I'm on to fletching. I found a bunch of Canadian goose feathers, which I've read are good for fletching but I have a few questions...

What's a good length for them?

Should I bleach them or anything to get rid of parasites/microorganisms?

Are there any other preparations that should be made to them before putting them on the arrows?

Thanks!
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline DC

Re: Goose Feather Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2017, 09:12:20 pm »
I put them in a bag with a mothball. Wash with clear water maybe. No soap, you don't want to strip the oils. That's what's good about goose feathers.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2017, 09:45:35 pm »
I throw all of my feathers in the freezer for a week or so to kill any critters that might be on them.  Then I store them in a tub with borax on the bottom to keep bugs away.  I make my fletching 5" long.

I dislike the smell of mothballs as much as the bugs do.  The borax has worked well and doesn't remind me of my old English teacher like the mothballs do.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2017, 09:51:42 pm »
I usually cut feathers at 6" but strip 1/2" from front and rear for wrapping. This gives me a 5" fletch.
 I keep my feathers in the freezer for a while them in my basement frig. Lots of goodies in that basement frig.  :OK
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline ksnow

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2017, 07:15:20 am »