Author Topic: Beginner tillering questions for an ash Holmegaarden replica  (Read 1295 times)

Offline dvader

I got curious about primitive bows a couple of months ago and decided to try it. I have no prior experience in either archery or bowyery but figured if the Danish could do it 8000 years ago with only stone tools, I could probably do it with modern tools. Sure, they had generations of experience but I have random people on the internet.

I started with an ash tree 7.5 cm in diameter and about 7m tall which I cut into pieces and split into halves. I got three decent pieces and one poor piece with a huge branch right in the middle. Since I'm a complete beginner, I figured I'd start with the poor piece and try to learn as much as possible from it. I've managed to get the bow into a rough shape and started tillering. It is currently bending OK and is about 28# at 15" (I haven't dared to pull it more than that yet).

I am currently a bit confused with the tillering. I see a lot of people tillering their bows to perfect semicircles or ellipses. That would make sense if the stick was perfectly straight to start with since you get the same stress/tension all along the stick. I started tillering for a nice semi circle but then my physics intuition told me that probably wasn't right. I should probably be looking for the same amount of movement along the stick. That is, if I want the same stress everywhere the deflection should be relative to the initial state and my final bow will look a bit crooked since my initial stick was. Is my intuition correct or have I missed something important?